To Top
[ Books | Comics | Dr Who | Kites | Model Trains | Music | Sooners | People | RVC | Shows | Stamps | USA ]
[ About | Terminology | Legend | Blog | Pic of the Day | Quotes | Links | Stats | Updates | Settings ]

Book Details

All Systems Red

64.3% complete
2017
2019
1 time
Book Cover
Has a genre Has a year read Has a rating In a series 
2321
 Murderbot*
#1 of 7
Murderbot*   See series as if on a bookshelf
A science fiction series of novellas and novels by Martha Wells about a non-human security unit.

1) All Systems Red
2) Artificial Condition
3) Rogue Protocol
4) Exit Strategy
5) Network Effect
6) Fugitive Telemetry
7) System Collapse
Copyright © 2017 by Martha Wells
No dedication.
I could have become a mass murderer after I hacked my governor module, but then I realized I could access the combined feed of entertainment channels carried on the company satellites.
May contain spoilers
Murderbot end message.
No comments on file
Synopsis not on file
Extract not on file

 

Added: 30-Jul-2019
Last Updated: 30-Nov-2023

Publications

 30-Oct-2017
Recorded Books
Book on CD
I read this editionOrder from amazon.comHas a cover imageBook Edition Cover
Date Issued:
30-Oct-2017
Format:
Book on CD
Cover Price:
$11.95
Length:
3 hrs 17 min (176 pages)
"Read":
Once
Reading(s):
1)   29 May 2019 - 29 May 2019
Cover Link(s):
Internal ID:
1775
Publisher:
ISBN:
Unknown
Country:
United States
Language:
English
Credits:
Kevin R Free  - Narration
Jaime Jones  - Cover Artist
From amazon.com:

All Systems Red is the tense first science fiction adventure novella in Martha Wells' series The Murderbot Diaries. For fans of Westworld, Ex Machina, Ann Leckie's Imperial Raadch series, or Iain M. Banks' Culture novels.

All Systems Red tackles questions of the ethics of sentient robotics. The main character is a deadly security droid that has bucked its restrictive programming and is balanced between contemplative self-discovery and an idle instinct to kill all humans.

In a corporate-dominated spacefaring future, planetary missions must be approved and supplied by the Company. Exploratory teams are accompanied by Company-supplied security androids, for their own safety.

But in a society where contracts are awarded to the lowest bidder, safety isn't a primary concern.

On a distant planet, a team of scientists are conducting surface tests, shadowed by their Company-supplied 'droid - a self-aware SecUnit that has hacked its own governor module, and refers to itself (though never out loud) as "Murderbot."

Scornful of humans, all it really wants is to be left alone long enough to figure out who it is. But when a neighboring mission goes dark, it's up to the scientists and their Murderbot to get to the truth.
Cover:
Book Cover
Notes and Comments:

Related

Author(s)

Martha Wells  
Birth: 01 Sep 1964 Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Notes:
From the e-Book version of Rogue Protocol:

MARTHA WELLS has written many fantasy novels, including The Wizard Hunters, Wheel of the Infinite, the Books of the Raksura series (beginning with The Cloud Roads), and the Nebula-nominated The Death of the Necromancer, as well as YA fantasy novels, short stories, and nonfiction. She has had stories in Black Gate, Realms of Fantasy, Stargate magazine, Lightspeed magazine, and in the anthologies Elemental, Tales of the Emerald Serpent, The Other Half of the Sky, The Gods of H. P. Lovecraft, and MECH: Age of Steel. She has also written media tie-ins for Stargate: Atlantis and most recently Star Wars: Razor’s Edge. The last book in the Books of the Raksura series, The Harbors of the Sun, was released in July 2017....

Awards

2017Good ReadsBest Science Fiction Nominee
2018Philip K. Dick TrustPhilip K. Dick Award Nominee
2018Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of AmericaNebula Award - Best Novella Winner
2018World Science Fiction SocietyHugo Award - Best Novella Winner
2019Libertarian Futurist SocietyPrometheus Award Nominee
*
  • I try to maintain page numbers for audiobooks even though obviously there aren't any. I do this to keep track of pages read and I try to use the Kindle version page numbers for this.
  • Synopses marked with an asterisk (*) were generated by an AI. There aren't a lot since this is an iffy way to do it - AI seems to make stuff up.
  • When specific publication dates are unknown (ie prefixed with a "Cir"), I try to get the publication date that is closest to the specific printing that I can.
  • When listing chapters, I only list chapters relevant to the story. I will usually leave off Author Notes, Indices, Acknowledgements, etc unless they are relevant to the story or the book is non-fiction.
  • Page numbers on this site are for the end of the main story. I normally do not include appendices, extra material, and other miscellaneous stuff at the end of the book in the page count.






See my goodreads icon goodreads page. I almost never do reviews, but I use this site to catalogue books.
See my librarything icon librarything page. I use this site to catalogue books and it has more details on books than goodreads does.


Presented: 17-Apr-2024 03:50:42

Website design and original content
© 1996-2024 Type40 Web Design.
Contact: webmgr@type40.com
Server: type40.com
Page: bksDetails.aspx
Section: Books

This website uses cookies for use in navigating this site only. No personal information is gathered or shared with anyone. If you don't agree, then don't use this site.